top of page
  • Raoof Irumbuzhi

I PREFER THIS TO ALL

Updated: Aug 29, 2022

In the early stage of my reading, I preferred the books of biography to history and others. Because, I was very much confident about that the story of a man will pave the way to the history of a time he lived. But I can’t here professing that a book of M I Thangal named “MINORITY POLITICS: IDEOLOGY & MISSION” put a permanent end to my infantile faith. Although the author of this book has published so many books in Malayalam I strongly believe that above-named book is his masterpiece. As far as M I Thangal is concerned, he was not only one of the doyens of Muslim journalists in the recent past but most sought after name in the ideologies of muslim politics in Indian as well as Kerala. We, from speeches and writings of Thangal, will be able to recognize that he was of panoptic reading in entire subjects. To me, I have read this book more than two times completely and even now, I approach it in order to get rid of my sallow dubieties of my shallow thoughts. It no doubt, reflects on a fact that on condition that we read this book through, we can find out that the author, through this book, opens a wide door up to splendid future of Indian Muslims by means of vivid historical experiences from their glorious past. Even though he lived humble and simple servant of Indian Union Muslim League tills his last breath, his book insisted every aspect of sound politics. Verily, the list of contents of this book is very large. It at first, discusses the discrepancies of society and community and effectualness of both each by quoting words from speech of Dr: Sir Sayed Allama Muhammed Iqbal. Besides this, this book hashs over the up and down of the Fascism and reasons gradual decline of fascism in India as well as the Extremism of Muslim community and its rising and falling. Moreover, talks about a great deal of various bailiwicks such as researches and done by three doyens of scholars of that time such as Sir Sayed Ahmed Khan, Abul Aala Moududi and Jamaludheen Afghani, and aftermaths of these researches, the modes and methods that ought to be adopted by present Muslims of India for the sake of amelioration of their futurity, relevancy of educational and political empowerment of community and the easy way for it and at last but not least gives cautions about superfluity of religious organizations aimlessly budded in community. Dared to emphasize the faults of own party by sitting in almost top position, M I Thangal in this book, pointed out the failure and bankruptcy of won community in building up such university as Aligarh Muslim University even after decades. I proudly recall here that he pointed to Darul Huda Islamic University established on 26 June 1986 at first as an Islamic academy now as university having of membership of Federation of the Universities of the Islamic World and the League of Islamic Universities, as role model for all institutions of community in bringing the view and perspective this community to the education up. Anyway, I am so sorry to say that my English vocabulary is not adequate to give more accounts of this book to you, but I can tell you without stints that the time being spent to read this book will not be in vain at all. Therefore, I now prefer this book to all .. With demise of M I Thangal, in the row of Muslim thinkers, a huge gap has appeared. His absence is very big loss for community in general and for Muslim League in particular. May allay the almighty give us chance to meet him from his paradise… ameeen (Now the English version of this book is available. The translator is Aboobacker kappad and publisher is Grace Books)

— with Mit Imbichikoya Thangal.

bottom of page